Czorsztyn and the Dunajec River Gorge
Down on the Slovak border lies the town and lake of Czorsztyn. To get there, take a lovely drive through the forested hills and the tourist town and walking centre of Krościenko nad Dunajcem and close to the Dunajec River Gorge (famous for rafting). Distance is approx. 60km, time a little over one hour.
Czorsztyn Dam and lake
The famous rafts start at the fishing boat pier in Sromowce Kąty where there is a car park, the National Pieniny Park exhibition, souvenir booths and a restaurant. Ticket sales normally run smoothly, but sometimes on a hot sunny day things can get frantic!
What can we say about what you are going to experience? The breathtaking views, the beauty of the mountains, the rocky landscape, the flora, and sometimes some fauna. It’s an experience not to be missed.
The ticket office operates:
May to August 08.30-17.00
You have a choice of going :
– to Szczawnica – tickets are 49 zł adult, 24.50 zł for children under 10 – the distance travelled is about 18 km, taking roughly 2h 15m
– the longer distance to Krościenko – tickets are adult 58 zł, 29 zł for children under 10 – distance about 23 km, duration 2h 45m
Return to the car park at Sromowce is on foot or by bus or taxi. For walkers, the trail is clearly marked.
More information: tel. +48 18 262 97 21 and www.flisacy.com.pl
At Czorsztyn you can windsurf, swim, sail or cross the lake by water bus. The lake is located in close proximity to several popular tourist spots, such as the Pieniny National Park, Niedzica Castle, Czorsztyn Castle and the tourist village of Kluszkowce. Among villages located by Czorsztyn Lake are Niedzica, Falsztyn, Frydman, Debno and Czorsztyn itself.
Work on the dam began in 1976, despite protests from ecological organisations. The people from villages to be flooded were moved to New Maniowy and other villages. In 1995 the sluice gates were closed and the lake began filling – the dam was officially opened in 1997. These days in the summer dozens of white sails and canoes can be seen on this beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. From May to October try the Biała Dama boat trip.
A film about the dam’s construction can be viewed in the dam’s pavilion. Ticket 3 zł normal.
The village was founded in 15th century on the trade route between Poland and Hungary. Originally the village was called Wronin, but German inhabitants changed it to “Schorstein” – “the projecting rock” – and this became Czorsztyn. The original village is now under the waters of the lake.
The castle was built in the 13th and 14th centuries, and for hundreds of years it protected the Polish border and was a customs post. The castle burned down in 1702 and was never rebuilt.
The ruins of the castle and the panorama are well worth the effort. Closed Mondays.
The castle was built around 1330 by Kokosz Berzewicza and protected the north Hungarian border. It was modified several times as can be seen in the pictures and models on show in the castle museum and was owned by several Hungarian families till 1945. From ruins oat the end of World war 2 it was renovated to a museum with some rooms to rent and a restaurant. One of the attractions is meeting the local ghost, as is explained on the special sign at the castle entry.
The museum is closed on Mondays